Water, Water Everywhere ArtshowFacebookTwitterYouTubeWordPress
About Water, Water Everywhere Gallery Water, Water Everywhere Artists Water, Water Everywhere Calendar Water, Water Everywhere Contact Water, Water Everywhere Supporters Water, Water Everywhere Resources Water, Water Everywhere Donate Water, Water Everywhere Baksun Books & Arts Water, Water Everywhere

Resources
(Selected)

Photo by Shireen Malik, 2011

We invite you to visit
H2O Conserve Water Calculator
www.h2oconserve.org/home.php?pd=index
once a month to determine how much water you use and whether your consumption has gone up or down.

And try this Watershed Quiz
http://kk.org/cooltools/archives/957
30 questions to evaluate your awareness and literacy of the greater place in which you live.


Photo by Shireen Malik, 2011

National and International Advocacy, Education, and Research Organizations

350.org -- www.350.org/en
AEN: Arts & the Environment -- www.ciwem.org/arts
American Littoral Society -- www.littoralsociety.org
American Rivers - www.americanrivers.org
Amigos Bravos - www.amigosbravos.org
Barataria-Terrebonne National Estuary Program -- www.btnep.org/BTNEP/home.aspx
Blue Planet Network -- blueplanetnetwork.org
Blue Planet Project -- www.blueplanetproject.net
Cape Farewell -- www.capefarewell.com
Center for a Livable Future -- www.jhsph.edu/research/centers-and-institutes/johns-hopkins-center-for-a-livable-future/index.html
Center for a New American Dream -- www.newdream.org
Center for Biological Diversity -- www.biologicaldiversity.org
Center for Watershed Protection -- www.cwp.org
Charity Navigators -- www.charitynavigator.org
Clean Beaches Council - www.cleanbeaches.org
Clear Initiative -- www.clearwaterinitiative.org
Colorado Ocean Coalition: Creating an Inland Ocean Movement -- coloradoocean.org
Concerned Citizens Coalition of Stockton -- www.cccos.org
Corporate Accountability International -- www.stopcorporateabuse.org
David Suzuki Foundation -- www.davidsuzuki.org
Ducks Unlimited -- www.ducks.org
Earthjustice: Because the Earth Needs a Good Lawyer -- www.earthjustice.org
EarthEcho International -- www.earthecho.org
Earth Guardians -- www.earthguardians.org

Environmental Investigation Agency -- www.eia-international.org
Felton Flow (Friends of Locally Owned Water) -- www.feltonflow.org
Food & Water Watch -- www.foodandwaterwatch.org
Friends of the Earth -- www.foe.org
Friends of the Earth Middle East -- www.foeme.org/www/?module=home
Friends of the Everglades -- www.everglades.org
Generation Blue (Austria) -- www.generationblue.at
Global Water Policy Project -- www.globalwaterpolicy.org
Global Water Program (Johns Hopkins University) -- http://globalwater.jhu.edu
A Global Water Story -- www.worldviews.net/a-global-water-story
Greenpeace USA -- www.greenpeace.org/usa/en
Greenpeace International -- www.greenpeace.org/international/en
Gulf Restoration Network -- www.healthygulf.org
H2O Conserve Water Calculator -- www.h2oconserve.org/home.php?pd=index
Interfaith Center for Corporate Responsibility -- www.iccr.org
International Rivers -- www.internationalrivers.org
Keepers of the Waters -- keepersofthewaters.org/BetsyDamon2012.cfm
Khaled bin Sultan Living Oceans Foundation -- http://www.livingoceansfoundation.org
MAIA Project, Bringing Clean Water to the Children of Palestine -- www.mecaforpeace.org/projects/maia-project
Michigan Citizens for Water Conservation -- www.savemiwater.org
The Mothers Project, Inc. -- www.mothersagainstfracking.com
In Colorado -- www.mothersforsustainableenergy.com/environmental-threats/2012/07/19/calling-on-mothers-to-save-colorado-from-hydrofrackingsign-on-now
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Restoration Center -- www.habitat.noaa.gov/restoration/index.html
Natural Resources Defense Council - www.nrdc.org
Navdanya: Seed keepers Network Defense Against Biopiracy -- www.navdanya.org
New Mexico Acequia Association -- www.lasacequias.org
Nora York, "Water, Water Everywhere/Nay Any Drop to Drink" -- www.youtube.com/watch?v=dJHuO5cCnIY&feature=c4-overview&list=UUDo3Cb8Gvpaze6XUJ7GrUBA
Oceana -- oceana.org/en
The Ocean Conservancy -- www.oceanconservancy.org
Pacific Institute -- www.pacinst.org
Polaris Institute -- www.polarisinstitute.org
Quit Day -- www.quitday.org
Restore America's Estuaries -- www.estuaries.org
Riverkeeper: New York's Clean Water Advocate -- www.riverkeeper.org
Sea Shepherd Conservation Society -- www.seashepherd.org
Sustainable WASH Solutions: A global portal for advancing sustainability in WASH -- sustainablewash.org
Tobacco-Free Life -- www.tobaccofreelife.org

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Wetlands, Oceans , and Watersheds -- water.epa.gov/aboutow/owow
The WASH Sustainability Charter -- washcharter.org
Water Aid -- www.wateraidamerica.org
World Water Council -- www.worldwatercouncil.org

Photo by Shireen Malik, 2011


A Brief Bibliography

Atchafalaya Houseboat: My Years in the Louisiana Swamp, Gwen Roland, C. C. Lockwood (Photographer), Louisiana State University Press, 2006

The Atlas of Water, Second Edition: Mapping the World's Most Critical Resource, Maggie Black, Jannet King, University of California Press, 2009

Bayou Farewell: The Rich Life and Tragic Death of Louisiana's Cajun Coast, Mike Tidwell, Vintage, 2004

The Big Thirst, The Secret Life and Turbulent Future of Water, Charles Fishman, Free Press, 2011

Cadillac Desert: The American West and Its Disappearing Water, Marc Reisner, Penguin, 1993

Conservation Refugees: The Hundred-Year Conflict Between Global Conservation and Native Peoples, Mark Dowie, MIT Press, 2009

A Ditch in Time: The City, the West and Water, Patricia Nelson Limerick, Fulcrum Publishing, 2012

Drinking Water, James Salzman, Overlook Press, 2012

Life on the Mississippi, Mark Twain, Dover Publications, 2000

50 Ways to Save the Ocean, David Helvarg, New World Library, 2006

The Ripple Effect: The Fate of Fresh Water in the Twenty-first Century, Alex Prud'homme, Scribner, 2011

Rising Tide: The Great Mississippi Flood of 1927 and How it Changed America, John M. Barry, Simon and Schuster, 1998

A River and Its City: The Nature of Landscape in New Orleans, Ari Kelman, University of California Press, 2006

Silent Spring, Rachel Carson, Houghton Mifflin Company, 2002

Taking on Water: How One Water Expert Challenged her Inner Hypocrite, Reduced her Water Footprint (without Sacrificing a Toasty Shower), and Found Nirvana, Wendy J. Pabich, Water Futures, Inc., 2012

Tar Sands: Dirty Oil and the Future of a Continent, Andrew Nikiforuk, Greystone Books, 2010

Thirst: Water and Power in the Ancient World, Steven Mithen, Harvard University Press, 2012

Tropic of Chaos: Climate Change and the New Geography of Violence, Christian Parenti, Nation Books, 2011

Under the Surface: Fracking, Fortunes, and the Fate of the Marcellus Shale, Tom Wilber, Cornell University Press, 2012

Water Consciousness, How We All Have To Change To Protect Our Most Critical Resource,
Tara Lohan, Alternet Books, 2008

Water: The Epic Struggle for Wealth, Power, and Civilization, Steven Solomon, Harper Perennial, 2011

Water Wars: Privatization, Pollution, and Profit, Vandana Shiva, South End Press, 2002

When Rivers Run Dry: Water - The Defining Crisis of the Twenty-first Century, Fred Pearce,
Beacon Press, 2007

World on the Edge: How to Prevent Environmental and Economic Collapse, Lester R. Brown, W.W. Norton & Company, 2011

Rainwater Harvesting for Drylands and Beyond -- www.harvestingrainwater.com

Green: A [New York Times] Blog about Energy and the Environment, "Q. and A.: How to Save Bangladesh," Joanna M. Foster -- green.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/05/17/q-and-a-how-to-save-bangladesh

New York Times, "Groundwater Depletion is Detected from Space," Felicity Barringer -- www.nytimes.com/2011/05/31/science/31water.html?pagewanted=all

Photo by Shireen Malik, 2011

Arts, Films, Film Clips and Other Media

Alternative Radio - www.alternativeradio.org

Maude Barlow: "The Global Water Crisis"
Maude Barlow: "Peak Water"
Maude Barlow: "Not a Drop to Drink"
Deborah Kaufman and Alan Snitow: "The Corporate Takeover of Water"
Vandana Shiva, Maude Barlow, and Tony Clark: "Liquid Assets: Water for the Highest Bidder"
Andrew Nikiforuk: "Tar Sands: Canada's Mordor"
Najma Sadeque: "Pakistan: Environment in Crisis"
Barbara Bernstein: "Rivers That Were"
Lester Brown: "Plan B: A Blueprint for People & the Planet"
David Suzuki: "Betraying Nature"

American Museum of Natural History-Water: H2O=Life -- www.amnh.org/exhibitions/water
American University Center for Environmental Filmmaking -- www.american.edu/soc/cef
Chris Jordan: "Midway-Message from the Gyre" -- www.chrisjordan.com/gallery/midway/#CF000313%2018x24
Cultura21 Network -- www.cultura21.net
Basia Irland, National Geographic Blog, "Water Currents" -- newswatch.nationalgeographic.com/2014/01/09/ecological-artist-basia-irland-and-her-ice-books-engage-communities-and-restore-rivers/#comment-326178
Betsy Damon, Keepers of the Waters -- keepersofthewaters.org/BetsyDamon2012.cfm
Ecoartnetwork -- www.ecoartnetwork.org
En cuánto tiempo se derrite un cubito? (2010), a short play renowned Argentinian playwright Alejandro Finzi -- www.marcelolirio.com.ar/noticias/?p=30
"Gasland: A Film by Josh Fox," www.gaslandthemovie.com
Green Museum -- www.greenmuseum.org
Image2020: Art and Climate Change -- www.imagine2020.eu
Immersion Emergencies -- www.immersion-emergencies.ca
Nigel Dunnett, "The London Olympic Park Swales and Rain Gardens" -- www.nigeldunnett.info/Londonolympicpark/styled/Olympicparksustainable%20drainage.html
Occidental Arts and Ecology Water Institute -- www.oaec.org/water-institute
"Ocean Frontiers," www.facebook.com/events/151847808283021
"Pirate for the Sea" -- www.seashepherd.org/news-and-media/2008/08/29/sea-shepherd-film-has-world-premiere-at-the-telluride-film-festival-473
River of Words: Center for Environmental Literacy -- www.stmarys-ca.edu/center-for-environmental-literacy/river-of-words
Sharon Stewart, "Toxic Tour of Texas, 1988-1992" -- www.sharonstewartphotography.net/exhibitions/ToxicTourOfTexas/index.html
"Thirst," Snitow-Kaufman Productions, www.snitow-kaufman.org
"Water Lilies," by Judith Selby Lang -- www.youtube.com/watch?v=KC23NnCghLk
Women Environmental Artist Directory (WEAD) -- weadartists.org

Photo by Shireen Malik, 2011

Photos by Shireen Malik, 2011